ProudPolitics is pleased to provide a venue for self-identified LGBTIQ+ candidates, of all political stripes, who are running for public offices of all orders across the country. The following is a list of self-identified, declared, and nominated LGBTIQ+ candidates in upcoming elections (listed by province, order of government, and alpha order by last name).

We believe that openly LGBTIQ+ leaders can be the biggest champions of inclusion, and effective intrapreneurs and change-agents from across the political spectrum. Help make history in Canada by supporting the candidates through VOLUNTEERING, DONATING, & PLEDGING YOUR VOTE!


To be included in this list and receive an information package, please fill out this form and we will be in touch with information on how to be featured.

ProudPolitics is not responsible for the content of any candidates website or views shared. 

2019 Alberta Provincial Election (April 16, 2019)

Janis Irwin

Office: MLA Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood
Party: Alberta NDP
Campaign Site

Devon Hargreaves

Office: MLA Lethbridge East
Party: Alberta Liberal
Campaign Site

David Khan

Office: MLA Calgary-Mountainview & Premier 
Party: Alberta Liberal 
Campaign Site

Ricardo Miranda

Office: MLA Calgary-Cross (Incumbent) 
Party: Alberta NDP
Campaign Site

2018 BC Municipal Elections (October 20, 2018)

Paul Hillsdon

Office: Surrey City Councillor
Party: Surrey First

Rick Hurlbut

Office: Vancouver Park Board
Party: ProVancouver

Rob McDowell

Office: Vancouver City Council
Party: Independent

Morgane Oger

Office: Trustee, Vancouver School Board


Sarah Potts-Halpin

Office: Victoria City Council
Party: Together Victoria

Nicola Spurling

Office: Coquitlam City Council

Brandon Yan

Office: Vancouver City Council
Party: OneCity Vancouver

John Yano

Office: Mayor of Vancouver

2018 ON Municipal Elections (October 22, 2018)


Keenan Aylwin

Office: Barrie City Councillor
District: Ward 2


Lyra Evans

Office: Trustee, Ottawa Carleton District School Board
District: Zone 9 (Rideau-Vanier/Capital)


Cam Galindo

Office: HWDSB Trustee

District: Wards 9 & 10

Susan Gapka

Office: Trustee, Toronto District School Board 
District: Ward 10

Sophie Geffros

Office: Hamilton City Councillor 
District: Ward 1

John Jeffery

Office: Toronto City Councillor
District: Ward 13 (Toronto Centre)


Douglas Judson

Office: Councillor, Township of Fort Frances

Jordan Kent

Office: Councillor, Township of Blandford-Blenheim

Cameron Kroetsch

Office: Hamilton City Councillor
District: Ward 2


Catherine McKenney

Office: Ottawa City Councillor (Incumbent)
District: Somerset Ward

Louroz Mercader

Office: Mississauga City Councillor
District: Ward 7

Lyla Miklos

Office: Hamilton City Councillor
District: Ward 1


Chris Moise

Office: Trustee, Toronto District School Board (Incumbent)
District: Ward 10 (Toronto Centre, University-Rosedale)


Ashley Noble

Office: Trustee, Durham District School Board

André Papadimitriou

Office: Trustee, Toronto District School Board
District: Ward 9

Matthew Reid

Office: London City Councillor
District: Ward 8

Shelly Skinner

Office: Barrie City Councillor
District: Ward 8

George Smitherman

Office: Toronto City Councillor
District: Ward 13 (Toronto Centre)

Nicki Ward

Office: Toronto City Councillor
District: Ward 11 (University - Rosedale)

Rob Wolvin

Office: Toronto City Councillor
District: Ward 13 (Toronto Centre)


Kristyn Wong-Tam

Office: Toronto City Councillor (Incumbent)
District: Ward 13 (Toronto Centre)


  • Community One Foundation